Employees and other authorized drivers driving vehicles on official University business must report vehicle incidents or damage to the Office of Risk Management, and to the University of Oregon Police Department. This includes University-owned vehicles, a rented or leased vehicles, and a personally owned vehicles.
- General Risk Management, (P) 541-346-8316
- Deb Donning, Director of Risk Management and Insurance (P) 541-346-2538
- Lisa Taylor, Assistant Risk Manager (P) 541-346-2307
Procedures for UO Employees, Students, and Volunteers
- Report to UOPD: 541-346-2919 or DIAL 911 if an emergency or not on Eugene Campus
- Report to the Office of Risk Management: 541-346-8316 within 24 hours
- Complete a Vehicle Online Incident Report. Additional forms may be required; please refer to the vehicle accident packets (in UO vehicles).
- University owned vehicles that have been involved in a vehicle accident should be re-inspected to confirm the vehicle is safe to drive. Departments may contact the University's Mobile Equipment shop for more information.
For more information, download the Reporting Procedures Quick Guide.
Information and Resources
Any loss or incident must be reported to the Office of Risk Management, 541-346-8316, within 24 hours. Reports later than 90 days after the date of a loss or incident may not be covered by insurance.
- Vehicle Crimes: If the loss is due to a hit-and-run, theft, break-in, or vandalism, these incidents are criminal and need to be reported to law enforcement immediately. If the incident occurred on university property, contact UOPD. Otherwise, contact local law enforcement.
- Deductible: University-owned, Motor Pool, state, and rental vehicle claims are subject to a deductible. Departments are responsible for $5,000 of the deductible. The Office of Risk Management will work directly with the responsible department to coordinate the repair efforts. Risk Management will work directly with Motor Pool to facilitate the claims on Motor Pool vehicles. The Motor Pool will charge the department for repair costs.
- Third Parties: When a university vehicle is damaged by another party, Risk Management will work with the department to file a claim with the third party’s insurance company.
- DMV Reporting: UO drivers should provide the pink copy of the DMV form to the firstname.lastname@example.org if they complete the DMV form. Per Oregon law drivers involved in a crash resulting in any of the following MUST file a Crash & Insurance Report:
- Damage to your vehicle is over $2,500
- Injury (No matter how minor)
- Damage to any one person's property over $2,500
- Any vehicle has damage over $2500 and any vehicle is towed from the scene as a result of damages.